Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership

Nomination deadline extended to Monday, May 20! launch

Award Description

Diversity, equity and inclusion are inextricably linked to UCSF's mission of education, research and patient care, and UCSF faculty, staff, students and trainees are actively engaged in equity and inclusion in multiple local, regional and global settings. Each year this award recognizes and honors three individuals at UCSF—one faculty, one staff, one student/resident/postdoctoral scholar—who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and service to the ideals of diversity, equity, and inclusion beyond the scope of their job, area of research, or training. This year those whose contributions are aligned with our Anti-racism Initiative are encouraged to be nominated.

Nominations: The nomination period for the 2024 Chancellor Awards for Diversity is March 27, 2024 to May 10th, 2024. Please check below to review eligibility requirement, selection criteria and nomination process.

Eligibility Requirements for Nomination

Nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be a UCSF academic or staff employee (with a minimum 50% appointment), or a student, a resident, or a postdoctoral scholar continuously from the time of nomination to the award ceremony in October.
  • Have either a P-series (P1-4), S-series (S1-S2), or M-series (M1-M4) classification but do not hold the title of assistant or associate vice chancellor or equivalent VP or Executive VP title in UCSF Health.
  • Have not previously received a Diversity Award from any of the four categories.
  • Have exhibited and sustained efforts toward engaging in diversity, equity, and inclusion as delineated below in the "Selection Criteria."
  • Endorsements from the supervisor and department head of the nominee.
  • We encourage nominations of individuals, not groups.

NOTE: Questions regarding classification, employment, and enrollment eligibility can be answered by Human Resources or Student Academic Affairs prior to submitting a nomination.

Selection Criteria

Nominees will be evaluated per the following criteria:

Base of Operations—demonstrates emerging or sustained commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts proportionate to their capacity to do so. (Some employees in higher level positions/jobs may have a greater capacity to perform this service more visibly than those in lower level positions).

Scope & Effort—demonstrates exceptional efforts beyond the scope of the nominee's job, research or training in the accomplishment of promoting an environment that is free of bias and discrimination and advances goals of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Impact—demonstrates that their diversity, equity and inclusion efforts have resulted in long-term benefits to recipients and community at large or a potential model for the establishment of other programs or activities.

Required Nomination Materials

Each nomination should have a minimum of one nominator and up to two supporters who are familiar with the nominee's work. Please see all required nomination materials below.

  1. One nomination form completed by the nominator
  2. One nomination letter from the nominator citing specific examples of the nominee's contributions and impacts as related to the "Selection Criteria".
  3. Up to two support letters citing specific examples of the nominee's contributions and impacts as related to the "election Criteria". Please note: support letters may be endorsed by multiple supporters. Any additional support letters submitted may not be read by the selection committee

Submission of Materials

We are excited to launch a new online nomination process this year for increased efficiency, accessibility, and equity. A nomination guide and worksheet are available for additional guidance.

For questions, please contact

Past Recipients


  • Sharon Youmans, PharmD, MPH, FAPhA (Faculty)
  • Leah Pimentel, MBA (Staff)
  • Jaysón Davidson, Christina Stephens, Sydney Williams (Learners)


  • Meshell Johnson, MD (Faculty)
  • Gabby Negussie-Retta, MS (Staff)
  • Nadia Ayad (Student)


  • Ana Delgado, RN, CNM, MS (Faculty)
  • Usma Khan (Staff)
  • Chase Webb (Student)


  • Matthew Bucknor, MD (Faculty)
  • Tung Nguyen, MD (Faculty)
  • Laura Camp (Staff)
  • Kwadwo Opoku-Nsiah (Student)


  • Denise Davis, MD (Faculty)
  • Teresa Scherzer, PhD (Staff)
  • Cortlyn Brown, MD (Student)


  • Holly Ingraham, PhD (Faculty)
  • Judy Young, MPH (Staff)
  • Rosny Daniel, MD (Resident)


  • Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH (faculty)
  • Crystal E. Morris (staff)
  • Peace Chukwudi (student)


  • Erica Monasterio, RN, MN (Faculty)
  • Markita Mays (Staff)
  • Nicolas E. Barcelo (Student: White Coats for Black Lives)
  • Sidra Bonner (Student: White Coats for Black Lives)
  • Frederick Jamison (Student: White Coats for Black Lives)


  • Carol Miller (Faculty)
  • Rena Pasick (Faculty)
  • Winifred Kwofie (Staff)
  • Florentine Rutaganira (Graduate Student)


  • Robert Rodriguez (Faculty)
  • Eula McKinney Ramroop (Staff)
  • Tacara Soones (Trainee)


  • Susan Kools, RN PhD FAAN (Faculty)
  • Damon Lew (Staff)
  • Angela Echiverri (Student)


  • Carol A. Gross, PhD (Faculty)
  • Priscilla Jane Banks (Staff)
  • Cynthia Zamora (Student)


  • Andre R. Campbell, MD (Faculty)
  • Joseph I. Castro, PhD (Staff)
  • Alicia Gonzalez-Flores (Student)


  • Katherine A. Flores, MD (Faculty)
  • JoAnne G. Keatley, MSW (Staff)
  • Bunly Pel (Student)


  • Eliseo J. Perez-Stable, MD (Faculty)
  • Judy Martin-Holland, RN, PhD, FNP (Staff)
  • Brandon Davis, PhD (Student)


  • Rene Salazar, MD (Faculty)
  • Alice Wong (Staff)
  • Hamdan Almas (Student)


  • Harvey Brody, DDS (Faculty)
  • Martha Hooven (Staff)
  • Damon Francis (Student)


  • Carmen Portillo, RN,PhD, FAAN (Faculty)
  • Charles J. Alexander, PhD (Staff)
  • Katherine L. Lupton (Student)


  • Claude H. Organ, Jr., MD (Faculty)
  • Zina Mirsky, RN, EdD (Staff)
  • Naissan Wesley Wesley (Student)


  • Newton Gordon, DDS, MS (Faculty)
  • Jorge Garcia-Sarzosa (Staff)
  • Leticia Melgoza-Webb (Student)


  • Eugene Washington (Faculty)
  • Sheila Antrum (Staff)
  • Ronald D. Nelson (Staff)
  • Jose A. Mirelez, Jr. (Student)
  • Fred Moore (Student)
  • Michael L. Penn, Jr. (Student)


  • J. Renee Navarro (Faculty)
  • Robert L. Okin (Faculty)
  • Gloria Jackson (Staff)
  • Alfred Lopez (Staff)
  • Rameek McNair (Student)


  • Howard Pinderhughes (Faculty)
  • Ara Tahmassian (Staff)
  • Maria Lopez (Student)


  • Cosmo Fraser (Faculty)
  • William C. Stevens (Staff)
  • Emmitt Jolly (Student)


  • Daniel Lowenstein (Faculty)
  • Stella Hsu (Staff)
  • Kyra Bobinet (Student)
  • Jennifer Danek (Student)


  • Erin O'Shea (Faculty)
  • Paula Ostrovsky (Staff)
  • Letitia Bradford (Student)
  • Manuel Lara (Student)


  • Westley Clark (Faculty)
  • A. Freeman Bradley, Jr. (Staff)
  • Mallika J. Marshall (Student)


  • Lloyd H. Smith (Faculty)
  • P. Leon King (Staff)
  • Gina Jones (Student)


  • Kathleen Giacomini (Faculty)
  • Elba Clemente-Lambert (Staff)
  • Tammie Quest (Student)


  • Rita Arriaga (Faculty)
  • James O'Donnell (Faculty)
  • Connie Bear King (Staff)
  • Elma Belenson (Staff)
  • Norris Turner (Student)


  • DeLois Weeks (Faculty)
  • Karen Newhouse (Staff)
  • Arlene Brown (Student)


  • Michael Drake (Faculty)
  • Francis Lu (Faculty)
  • Robert Mahon (Faculty)
  • Ricardo Munoz (Faculty)
  • Joanne Lewis (Staff)
  • Venieda White (Student)


  • John Watson (Faculty)
  • Barbara Wilson (Staff)
  • Alfredo Franco, Jr. (Student)
  • Marie Juarez (Student)
  • Errol Lobe (Student)